About the CAA

CAA Indigenous Scholarship and Equity and Diversity Scholarships

Purpose: The Canadian Archaeological Association Indigenous Scholarship and the Equity and Diversity Scholarships were created to support the training of people who can help to diversify the field of archaeology. Archaeology has been and continues to be practiced largely by white, straight, cisgender people without disabilities. As a result, we are missing a diversity of voices and lived experiences that would serve to enrich archaeological practice and interpretation. These awards are a small step towards bringing a broader range of perspectives into the discipline. They are designed to support the recipients’ interest in archaeology and help them fund an element of their archaeological training. The scholarships recognize the systemic barriers that Indigenous people, 2SLGBTQIA+ people, people with disabilities and people from racialized groups face during their training and careers in archaeology. People who identify as part of more than one of these groups face additional obstacles, so we prioritize them for awards.

Read More

The Smith-Wintemberg Award

The Smith-Wintemberg award is presented to honour professional members of the Canadian archaeological community who have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the discipline of archaeology and our knowledge of the archaeological past of Canada.  This award is presented in any year, as merited.  An eligible candidate should have: 1) significantly advanced the training and practice of archaeologists, and/or 2) made exceptional research contributions, and/or 3) advanced method and theory in some significant way.  A recent CV of the candidate as well as a minimum two letters of support from his/her peers are required.  A letter of introduction by the nominating individual should highlight the achievements of the nominee.  Any supporting materials such as articles or previous awards deemed relevant may be included in the nomination dossier.  Candidacies for Canadian archaeologists working primarily outside of Canada can be accepted by the CAA, but priority will be given to archaeologists who have worked on Canadian archaeology for most of their careers.

Read More

Margaret and James F. Pendergast Award

Margaret and James F. Pendergast

The Margaret and James F. Pendergast award is awarded by the CAA to recognize exemplary contributions to Canadian archaeology by an avocational archaeologist. The award is made possible by an endowment from the Pendergast family. Membership in the CAA is not required. Eligible candidates should embody all the principles of the CAA and be a positive role model for archaeology among the Canadian public. Candidates must have conducted archaeological research as evidenced by publications and/or papers delivered at national, provincial/territorial archaeological conferences. To nominate a candidate, please send a letter of introduction that highlights the achievements of the nominee. Two letters of support from active CAA members are also required. Any supporting materials such as newspaper or journal articles deemed relevant may be included in the nomination dossier. The award will be announced at the CAA Annual General Meeting. The commemorative award will be presented at a mutually convenient location for the recipient and the CAA executive. The award will also include one year's membership to the CAA.

Read More

Public Communications Awards

The CAA recognizes the importance of public journalism, institutions, and social media in disseminating and promoting Canadian archaeology. Outstanding efforts are recognized in the following categories: Writer/Producer and Professional/Institutional and Social Media. Nominations are made by CAA members.


Read More

Daniel Weetaluktuk Award

Two prizes are awarded annually, one each to an undergraduate and a graduate student for written work on a topic related to Canadian archaeology. Students must be CAA members and either be attending a Canadian University or be a Canadian citizen attending a foreign university. Deadline for submissions is June 15.


Read More

The Roscoe Wilmeth Award for Service

The Roscoe Wilmeth Award recognizes outstanding, long-term service by a CAA member to the Canadian Archaeological Association or to Canadian Archaeology. It is not necessarily awarded every year, and it may be awarded to more than one nominee in a given year.

Read More