Skip to Content

About the CAA

The Smith-Wintemberg Award

The Smith-Wintemberg Award is presented to honour members of the Canadian archaeological community who have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the discipline of archaeology, or to our knowledge of the archaeological past of Canada. This award is presented in any year, as merited, to recognize outstanding achievement or service.

Margaret and James F. Pendergast Award

The Canadian Archaeological Association has established an award to recognize exemplary contributions to Canadian archaeology by an avocational archaeologist.

Public Communications Awards

The CAA recognizes the importance of public journalism in disseminating and promoting Canadian archaeology. Outstanding efforts are recognized in the following categories: Writer/Producer and Professional/Institutional. Nominations are made by CAA members.

Daniel Weetaluktuk Award

Two prizes are awarded annually, one each to an undergraduate and a graduate student for written work on a topic related to Canadian archaeology. Students must be CAA members and either be attending a Canadian University or be a Canadian citizen attending a foreign university. Deadline for submissions is the mid-April.

You Tube Video Channel Award

The Canadian Archaeological Association and the Canadian Museum of History announce the CAA YouTube Channel Video Awards

These awards are presented for video submissions that promote the fields of archaeology and heritage stewardship in Canada, as well as educate and entertain the general public.